A Unique Climbing & Hiking Destination
Located in one of the three 19th Century trestles from the Richmond & Petersburg Railroad, the Manchester Climbing Wall in Richmond, VA is a unique climbing destination. The climbing wall offers over 40 climbing routes for all levels of climbers, from beginners to experienced, with bolts and shutts installed for added safety. The most challenging route is Tendinitis with a rating of 5.10d. For beginners, The Ladder route near the James River is a perfect starting point. The climbing wall is open from sunrise to sunset every day.
The T. Tyler Potterfield Memorial Bridge
Located in Richmond, VA, offers much more than just a climbing destination. This pedestrian and bike-friendly span links Brown’s Island to Manchester and provides breathtaking views of the James River. The bridge was named after T. Tyler Potterfield, a senior planner for the City of Richmond and a passionate advocate for connecting the city to green spaces. It was completed in 2016 and is open 24/7.
Honoring T. Tyler Potterfield
The Potterfield Bridge honors the accomplishments of T. Tyler Potterfield, who served as a city planner, historian, author, mentor, and citizen of Richmond for 22 years. The bridge is part of the City of Richmond’s 2012 Riverfront Plan and spans over 1,700 feet, or about 1/3 of a mile, over the rapids of the Great Falls of the James. It connects Brown’s Island, which is operated by Venture Richmond and is a popular location for concerts, festivals, and other events, to the Manchester Wall and Floodwall Trail on the south bank of the James River. Paths and landscaping around the Manchester Wall and the Richmond-Petersburg Railroad abutment provide another 1/3 of a mile of universally accessible paths and connect to the Manchester neighborhood.
Witnessing the Power of the James River
From the bridge, you can witness the power of the James River as it rushes over the remains of a former hydroelectric dam, with historic storms like Hurricane Agnes having raised the river above its current level at times. At the start of the bridge on the Brown’s Island side is the April 1865 exhibit, which memorializes the Confederate Evacuation & Fire, the Entrance of the Union Army, and Emancipation Day in Richmond over the course of three days in April 1865. Brown’s Island is also one terminus of the Canal Walk, a 1.25-mile public pedestrian path that passes through the Shockoe district and provides access to restaurants, unique shopping, and the Richmond Slave Trail. The Potterfield Bridge was built on top of the concrete piers of the former dam, which date back to 1901, and the bridge structure was reinforced with steel.